Overwhelmed.

by Michelle B. Araneta

Sometimes we get swallowed up by life.  We get lost in all that we need to do, how we are feeling, the stress of what comes our way, what we want to say, and desperation to get it all done.  It is the feeling of being overwhelmed, and sometimes thrown into the mix for good measure is a dose of helplessness.  I have been there many, many times before and just recently, these past few days.  Usually it happens when we have so many things on our to-do list, deadlines to meet, pressure to accomplish it all, and need to get it done right, but what we don’t realize is that, this feeling is much more intensified when one has gone through abuse.

The feeling of being overwhelmed almost automatically comes with helplessness and leads into burnout, then to depression.  The whole process is much more complicated, heavier than those that face the feeling under ‘normal’ situations.  Those that have faced abuse, still have left over training from the situations that they have experienced and it has a tendency to creep in when we get involved in life.

As we try to sort through the tangled mess crippling us, we hear remnants of the words that were once used, feel the grips that once held us, see the fear we once faced … it comes back.  Maybe just a little at a time and maybe in full force.

We each have our own way for getting past being overwhelmed.  I take the moments to be still and sort out what thoughts are mine and what are others.  Once I am able to put things into perspective, I take what I need to get done a little at a time and trust in the fact that I was not built as a superwoman, and should be understanding enough with myself to know that I am only capable of doing my best a day at a time.

But for me, the struggle comes with expressing how I feel in the moment.  I try and try to put the words together, but nothing seems to work.  So today, this piece, is an example of that.  I am trying to break through the the feeling of being overwhelmed and helpless at the same time.  It’s crippled me for too long these past few days, today is the day I fight against its power to keep me silent.

Sometimes, all it takes is that first little baby step into the light and the next thing you know, the pieces begin to fall into place.  So here I am taking my step with my fingers crossed behind my back.

AND … I do apologize for keeping quiet these past few days.  I have always told myself that regardless of what one is feeling, it is never a reason to keep quiet, it is in fact a reason to speak up and share.  For it is then, that we begin to learn.

6 Comments to “Overwhelmed.”

  1. Hang in there– sending you hugs and positive thoughts.

  2. Dear kindred spirit, I love that you are attacking it. Want you to know that, no matter what you are going through, you are a strength and comfort for me. Thank you for your continual presence in my and others’ lives. You are a true treasure.

    • Thank you for you very sweet and kind words. They mean more than you know. I know we all struggle through these feelings every now and then, and words like yours and others, help us move forward. They give so much encouragement and hope. Thank you.

  3. Oh my goodness…I can completely relate to that feeling of being overwhelmed and helpless. I have been dealing with it in waves it seems lately. Hang in there…

Share your thoughts.

